Comfort Foods

Serendipity

This past weekend was Mother’s Day, as I’m sure you’re all very well aware! For my Mother’s Day gift, my sweet husband took me to dinner on Saturday night, let me have a nice relaxing bath with a Lush bath bomb, then messaged my feet with some awesome lotion. What a guy! The evening was perfect! The only thing that would have been able to put the cherry on top would have been a Frozen Hot Chocolate from Dairy Queen.

I’m not sure what it is about those Frozen Hot Chocolates, but when I was super pregnant with James, one of my favorite activities was having a Dr Teals Eucalyptus Epsom Salt bath while sipping on a Frozen Hot Chocolate. YUM. Since the good ol’ DQ isn’t always available, I even tried making one from scratch, following Paula Deen’s recipe. While I admit it’s not quite as yummy as DQ’s cocoa hot fudge, it is a fun, unique drink!

What are some of your favorite comfort foods?

FROZEN HOT CHOCOLATE

3 ounces best-quality chocolate (or a variety of your favorites)
2 teaspoons store bought hot chocolate mix
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 cups milk
3 cups ice
Whipped cream, for garnish

Chop the chocolate into small pieces and melt in a small heavy saucepan or in the top of a double boiler over simmering water. Stir occasionally until melted. Add the hot chocolate mix and sugar, stirring constantly until blended.

Remove from heat and slowly add 1/2 cup of the milk, stirring until smooth. Cool to room temperature.

In a blender, place the remaining 1 cup of milk, the chocolate mixture, and the ice. Blend on high speed until smooth and the consistency of a frozen daiquiri. Pour into a giant goblet and top with whipped cram and chocolate shavings.

One thought on “Comfort Foods

  1. Ice-cream is definitely what I have to get to put my world right. Preferably on a stick or on a cone. Mmmm, ChocoTacos too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

