Ethnic Food Night

It’s amazing to consider how many different types of dishes there are in the world! For me and my little family, we generally stick pretty closely to an “American” diet, with some ethnic dishes including Greek, Chinese, Mexican, and Italian here or there. But there are so many different ethnic cuisines out there! French, Japanese, Russian, Cuban, African, Cajun, Thai, Indian, German, Spanish, Icelandic, and the list goes on and on!

I think my all time favorite ethnic dish from my childhood is definitely Gyoza. It was requested for my birthday dinner almost every year of my life! Mom learned how to make the recipe from a Japanese exchange student who stayed with us, and it has become a family favorite ever since! Here’s a copy of that recipe!

I recently decided to try a new Russian dish, Borscht! Here’s a link to the recipe I used. While I enjoyed making a new recipe, the soup wasn’t actually my favorite. It was yummy enough to enjoy, but probably not to keep in my recipe box. Michael was a good sport and ate it without a complaint, though I know it wasn’t his favorite 🙂

???????????????????????????????

Regardless of whether or not this dish became my new favorite birthday dish, it was really fun to try something completely new! Not to mention it was a gorgeous color! If you’re up for a fun challenge, pick a new ethnic recipe and try it out! We may as well familiarize ourselves with different foods since they’re out there! Who knows, maybe the next one I try will become another favorite!

Leave a Reply

