Dutch Babies

Happy Wednesday All! Lisa here, this week I’m sharing a favorite breakfast dish – Dutch Babies, aka German Pancakes.  One thing I love about this simple dish is that it is very easy to adjust to whatever number of servings you want.

Sorry for the blurry photo, but it still gives a general idea of what  baked version looks like.

Sorry for the blurry photo, but it still gives a general idea of what baked version looks like.

Here are the basics:

For each serving, or per person

(If I’m making one just for me I usually do two eggs worth)

  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1/4 cup Flour

Optional, but yummy additions per serving

  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Generously grease pan, melted butter is especially delicious (1-2 Tablespoons per 4 servings), but Pam spray works as well.  Any kind of pan will work, my favorite is a pie dish.  I have heard muffin tins are great for single servings, but I have not experimented yet with this.

Add all ingredients to a blender, and blend until smooth.  I find layering the ingredients in the blender to be helpful, ie wet (egg), dry (flour), wet (milk).  Pour mixture into greased pan.  Baked for 20-25 mins.

Serve plain, or add a dusting of powdered sugar or maple syrup.

Happy Eating!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

